J. Barry Mason
Distinguished Alumni

Distinguished Alumni 1997, J. Barry Mason

J. BARRY MASON, University of Alabama
Interim President of the University of Alabama

Specialty Field: Retailing and Marketing Research.

Education: Louisiana Polytechnic Institute (B.S.), The University of Alabama (M.A.and Ph.D.).

Academic and Professional Specialties: Academic/industrial partnerships; business education and business school outreach initiatives; marketing and strategic retailing

Author or co-author of 8 college texts, 10 research monographs and 100 published refereed journal articles in such publications as the Harvard Business Review; the University of Chicago's Journal of Business; the Journal of Marketing and the Journal of Marketing Research.

Professional Honors and Achievements:

  • In 1999 Dean Mason received the Wayne A. Lemburg Award for Distinguished Service from the American Marketing Association.
  • In 1997 he was named a Distinguished Alumnus by his alma mater, the Louisiana Tech University College of Business.
  • In 1997 Mason was recognized in Marketing Educator as one of the top 100 most productive marketing scholars in the previous 20 years.
  • He is former chairman of the board of the 40,000-member American Marketing Association.
  • In December 1997, the AMA established the Mason-Spiro-Gordon Award, "To be presented rarely to volunteer leaders who have demonstrated uncommon leadership to the American Marketing Association and partnership with the professional staff during particularly challenging times. Without them there would be no AMA."
  • In 1996 Mason received the Employer of the Year Award given by the Business and Professional Womens Club of Tuscaloosa.
  • In 1994 he was designated a Distinguished Fellow of the Academy of Marketing Science "for exemplary services to the Academy over a sustained period of time, as well as outstanding contributions to the marketing discipline."
  • In 1986 Mason was named the first annual recipient of the Academy of Marketing Science Outstanding Educator of the Year Award "for contributions to the discipline through superlative teaching, demonstrated excellence in research, and service to the profession."
  • In 1984 he received the Western Electric (now AT&T) Foundation Award given annually for the nation's best undergraduate innovation in business education.
  • In 1984 he received the Leavey Award for Excellence in Private Enterprise Education by the Freedoms Foundation of Valley Forge "for outstanding efforts to help young people better understand the function and benefits of private enterprise and free market economics." The award honored his service as chairman of the UA Task Force on Cost Savings, which worked with the General Motors Rochester Products Plant in Tuscaloosa and the UAW to identify $1 million in cost savings and prevent the closure of the 200-employee local facility. That project laid the groundwork for future academic-industrial partnerships involving the University and the business school, including the ongoing relationship with Mercedes-Benz U.S. International.
  • In 1983 he received The University of Alabama National Alumni Association Outstanding Commitment to Teaching Award and the John F. Burnum Distinguished Faculty Award for "bringing distinctive credit to the academic community at this University."
  • Mason's other University recognitions include the Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award for "the practical application of noble ideals based on excellence of character and service to humanity; the Carleton K. Butler Award for Excellence in Service to Students of The University given by Theta Chi Fraternity; and the Minnie Miles Excellence Award for Outstanding Contributions to the University.
  • In 1980 he was named one of 10 outstanding scholars on The University of Alabama campus.
  • In 1976, he was designated a Beta Gamma Sigma National Scholar; Beta Gamma Sigma is the scholastic equivalent in business of Phi Beta Kappa in arts and sciences.
  • He is a Past President and a Fellow of both the Southwestern Marketing Association and the Southern Marketing Association.

Civic Leadership:

  • Current Chairman of the Board of DCH Regional Medical Center (hospitals in Tuscaloosa, Northport and Fayette plus nursing home in Fayette)
  • Current President, Challenge 21
  • Past President, Black Warrior Council of the Boy Scouts of America
  • Past President, West Alabama Chamber of Commerce

Return to Distinguished Alumni Page